Documenting the summer, from photos and pictures into university practice.

I kept a small record over the summer of my exploits and achievements. This little book has lots in it, so here are just afew of the keynotes.

 

So heres how this works: Every action has an equal and opposite reaction.

Each one of the drawings told the story of my summer in some way or another, and along with the drawings, photos started to emerge to use as reference if a sketchbook wasn’t convenient at the time.

Planning for the Powerboat course, at first Falmouth seemed like the only option but I found myself in Christchurch instead.
Planning for the Powerboat course, at first Falmouth seemed like the only option but I found myself in Christchurch instead.

As the photos became more numerous so too did the drawings, and at the time the Medium in which I was telling the story didn’t matter, simply the story, whether by simple sketch or my photo

When I first came home, the first thing I needed to capture was the view, condensed.
When I first came home, the first thing I needed to capture was the view, condensed.
I went underwater a lot. Either by means of free-diving or using scuba gear, and each means led to different outcomes in the re-telling.
I went underwater a lot. Either by means of free-diving or using scuba gear, and each means led to different outcomes in the re-telling.
A Shy or Box Crab, midwater.
A Shy or Box Crab, midwater.
Sketched from a Photo in Above and Below: Man and the Ocean. this book is a faithful companion and a great tome of Knowledge and wisdom from leading minds around the world.
Sketched from a Photo in Above and Below: Man and the Ocean. this book is a faithful companion and a great tome of Knowledge and wisdom from leading minds around the world.
A Porcelain Crab defending its Sea-Anemone fortress.
A Porcelain Crab defending its Sea-Anemone fortress.
My Dive gear
My Dive gear
Dive Gear.
Dive Gear.
Using alternative mediums to depict the diver as seemingly out of place in the picture gave it better sense of perspective.
Using alternative mediums to depict the diver as seemingly out of place in the picture gave it better sense of perspective.
Leading a Dive.
Leading a Dive.
A Nudibranch. These colourful little sea slugs are a treasure for a Underwater Photographer to find.
A Nudibranch. These colourful little sea slugs are a treasure for a Underwater Photographer to find.
Curiosity.
Curiosity.

As well as underwater endeavors, the surface brought quite a bit of fun too.

Skimboarding, a rediscovered love of mind, once again cradled me in a sweet embrace of adrenaline fueled thrills.
Skimboarding, a rediscovered love of mind, once again cradled me in a sweet embrace of adrenaline fueled thrills.
The aim being to ride the receding water of a wave onto the crest of a newly forming one, and then maneuver onto the break of that wave. Easier said than done, time and tide y'know.
The aim being to ride the receding water of a wave onto the crest of a newly forming one, and then maneuver onto the break of that wave. Easier said than done, time and tide y’know.
Continuous line drawing makes an appearance.
Continuous line drawing makes an appearance.

As the drawings and photos went on and on, there seemed to be less of a point to it. But it was thrilling to do nonetheless. It felt very good to recreate what I had seen and done, to tell a story. My story about the summer.

Coming back now, to University,

I shouldn’t think of what I did over the summer and what I’m doing at Uni as two different things.

I’m here to tell stories, and to show others what there is to be told about.

So lets start combining the two.

Leave a Reply

