The cabinet, and inspiring from the ocean.

As the summer had passed I had lost a slight amount of direction

as far as my own personal work was going. So I remembered what was in the past and learned from it. I searched through my artifacts.

Various traces from pages in the tome of summer. This collage served as a mind map, helping me to piece together some of the highlights of my time.
Various traces from pages in the tome of summer. This collage served as a mind map, helping me to piece together some of the highlights of my time.

As this went on, I walked past the CSAD Cabinet, which contains various works at different weekly intervals. Each piece of finished was no doubt was very well done and deserved to be displayed, but each and every time I strolled past and admired the works displayed, I could not help but feel like the cabinet was incomplete. I did not know why I felt this at the time but I was very determined to find out.

On instinct alone, I arranged to have afew days to myself with the cabinet, where I physically got into the cabinet and started working on things inside of it. and BANG! It hit me. I realized why I had gotten into the cabinet in the first place. I went searching for, what I thought at least, would make the pieces of work displayed more complete. And I found it.

The process was missing. Each time I observed a completed work in the cabinet, I wanted to know more. the work wasn’t speaking to me in a personal way. By putting myself working in the cabinet, I hoped to give this luxury to observers. Whether I was drinking my coffee or listening to music whilst drawing, no matter what work I was producing, I wanted to show the process of the artist at work, and not simply the work produced.

Here are afew of the works.

A yacht, Close hauling (sailing as close to the wind as possible) at dawn on the western Indian Ocean
A yacht, Close hauling (sailing as close to the wind as possible) at dusk on the western Indian Ocean
A wind-awareness chart, with its various points marked out not in letters or numbers, but instead their representations by International Maritime signaling Flags
A wind-awareness chart, with its various points marked out not in letters or numbers, but instead their representations by International Maritime signaling Flags
A Diver, ascending from a dive using a CCR (closed circuit re-breather), being followed by pilotfish.
A Diver, ascending from a dive using a CCR (closed circuit re-breather), being followed by pilotfish.

P1350313

Leave a Reply

