Shooting with the new Housing.

Well as you can imagine I was devastated when my AW130 ended up flooding in August. If you ask any U/w photography enthusiast about their biggest fear I’m sure they’ll tell you about their housings flooding and killing their cameras rather than the fear of heights or spiders. Crippling depression ensued, no amount of memes helped, so I had to do what had to be done: spend an arm and a leg on a new camera, and all the submarine kit to go with it.

Nikon's third installment in their All Weather range of compact cameras, this little guy could withstand 4 atmospheres of pressure and I had taken it down to 25+ meters.
Nikon’s third installment in their All Weather range of compact cameras, this little guy could withstand 4 atmospheres of pressure and I had taken it down to 25+ meters.

The AW130 was a compact little camera with 16mpxls and good recording tech, but it was self-contained, meaning that a Housing wasn’t a problem. But now that my faith in Nikon had been shaken slightly I figured that a proper change was in order.

So after weeks of deliberating, I opted for a Sony RX100 IV. It had come highly recommended by afew friends who made their living as photographers, and I’ll tell you now that I had loads of fun with it, loads of cool little gadgets build into it and it could also shoot in 4k. Now for the housing. Nauticam had designed one that fit all of Sony’s RX100’s, and were very good at keeping me informed and puting together a kit for me as my first proper Underwater Photography rig.

I spend hours reading every piece of paper that came with my new housing. I was so chuffed, and couldn't wait to play with my new toy.
I spent hours reading every piece of paper that came with my new housing. Couldn’t wait to test it in the field.

The first photos I took with the new setup were in Porto-Ibiza, and the Mediterranean definitely was very kind to me. Octopus, Lobster, Nudibranchs and Scorpionfish were all there to greet me as I aimed my lens at them. The water was warm still from the summer, and I couldn’t wait to get this badboy home to Dar and use it at every opportunity. Here are some of the Photographs I managed to take while in the Med.

Gorgeous little Octopus let me come very close for this shot.
Gorgeous little Octopus let me come very close for this shot.
This Long-legged Spider Crab emerged out of an anemone to say hi.
This Long-legged Spider Crab emerged out of an anemone to say hi.
My Dive buddy and the Head instructor at the dive center that took me out. Nitrox was the order of the day and we had gorgeous blue water.
My Dive buddy and the Head instructor at the dive center that took me out. Nitrox was the order of the day and we had gorgeous blue water.
The Floral Morays that inhabited every dive site we visited were rather tempermental, this guy in particular as he lunged at the lens shortly after this shot was taken.
The Floral Morays that inhabited every dive site we visited were rather tempermental, this guy in particular as he lunged at the lens shortly after this shot was taken.
Leave a Reply

