Ibiza and the Dry-suit Upgrade.

The Emerald Island has been very kind to me indeed thus far, but she was a little cold at first. Time to put some thicker skin on!

 

20170511_115807[1]
I was given a Neoprene Dry Suit, a lighter and slightly warmer alternative to the Tri-laminate Suits I had previously used on quarry dives and my initial Dry Suit training. At this point I had completed a Nitrox instructor speciality and my Dry Suit instructor speciality, with Wreck and Naturalist soon to follow. Although the suit was warm and kept me mostly dry, a good strap around the neck seal can help keep the water out.
The water temperature for the early summer months here in Eivissa is around 18-19Ā°C, so a rather chilly change from the tropical water’s I grew up in. However, cold water doesn’t mean lifeless water at all. The amount of biodiversity here in the Mediterranean is beautiful.

 

Watermark636302705311753887
Scorpaena scrofa, the Largescaled Scorpionfish, photographed at 24 meters down inside of a little cave. These venomous predators are common here, hiding in their little fortresses lying in wait for their next meal.

Aquatic life is here in abundance in many different forms, from rays and octopus to nudibranchs and eels, but I’ve also seen strange creatures that don’t look as at home in the water as the fish, however they seem to fit in just fine.

 

Watermark636302705563393173
Diving on Nitrox at 30 meters down, I looked up to see another dive group on Air levelled out at 18 meters. the school of fish inbetween, composed of Damselfish and afew Seabream dotted throughout the cluster, made for a nice contrast in the foreground to take the focus off of the divers, and helping them blend into the water a little more, something all divers ultimately would like to achieve: becoming one with the sea.

As the dives went on I found myself missing home a little, not so much the warm water but the familiar shapes and faces of the reef fish I had become accustom to encountering on a regular basis. Out of a dark little crevice, a familiar sight caught my eye and gave me abit of warmth, as if I had just caught the eye of a friend or relative. To my excitement, I was greeted by a friendly pair of antenna.

 

Watermark636302705416375479
Palinurus elephas, the Common Spiny Lobster is generally an indifferent species, fleeing divers if provoked or startled, but with proper buoyancy control and slow smooth swimming habits, you can get quite close to them. It was comforting to see a Spiny Lobster, a common sight on the night dives I’m used to back home where the Ornate Spiny Lobster comes out to play.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

